Eight area players selected to IHSBCA All-District Teams

MV’s Lange, Woodbine’s Bantam land first team honors

Eight area players were named to the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association all-district teams released earlier this week.

In Class 2A, Missouri Valley’s Connor Lange was selected as a first team catcher, and Alec Fichter was named as a second team outfielder.

In Class 1A, Woodbine’s Alex Bantam earned a spot as a first team utility player.  Second team honors went to West Harrison pitcher Tyler Melby, catcher Logan King, and outfielder Nick Rife.  Woodbine’s Layne Pryor and Logan-Magnolia’s Trevor Wills collected second team utility honors.

2019 IHSBCA All-District Teams

Class 2A, Southwest Iowa District

First Team

Pitchers: Drew Peterson, Treynor, Jr.; Landon Nelson, Underwood, Jr.; A.J. Schreck, Carroll Kuemper, Sr.

Catchers: Connor Lange, Missouri Valley, Sr.; Jaxon Schumacher, Treynor, 8th.

1B: Nate McCombs, Treynor, Jr.

2B: Parker Rock, Clarinda, Jr.

SS: Nick Ravlin, Underwood, Jr.

3B: Blake Hall, Underwood, Soph.

Outfield: Kyle Christensen, Treynor, Sr.; Connor Eaton, Mount Ayr, Sr.; Drake Adair, Underwood, Sr.

Utility: Carter Bruce, Red Oak, Sr.; Kyle Berg, Carroll Kuemper, Jr.; Drew Taylor, Panorama, Soph.

Second Team

Pitchers: Cooper Neal, Clarinda, Fr.; Keelan Klommhaus, Mount Ayr, Jr.; Kaleb Smith, Tri-Center, Jr.

Catchers: Evan Taylor, Panorama, Soph.; Logan Green, Clarinda, Fr.

1B: Tyler Boothby, Underwood, Soph.

2B: Trent Kozeal, Tri-Center, Soph.

SS: Tommy Duysen, Treynor, Sr.

3B: Kristian Martens, Treynor, Jr.

Outfield: Brice Taylor, Panorama, Fr.; Will Halverson, Treynor, Jr.; Alec Fichter, Missouri Valley, Soph.

Utility: Zach Teten, Underwood, Jr.; Austin Herold, Shenandoah, Jr.; Jake Hugebeck, Carroll Kuemper, Soph.

Class 1A, Southwest Iowa District

First Team

Pitchers: Isaac Gavin, Martensdale St. Marys, Jr.; Ethan Bernard, CB St. Albert, Sr.; Brock Kyner, Southeast Warren, Sr.; Christian Cook, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Sr.

Catchers: Colby Page, Southeast Warren, Sr.; Tyler Vandewater, Nodaway Valley, Jr.

1B: Sam Porter, AHSTW, Jr.

2B: Bryce Hall, Southeast Warren, Jr.

SS: Cy Patterson, CB St. Albert, Soph.

3B: Cole Cassady, Martensdale St. Marys, Jr.;

Outfield: Carson Elbert, Martensdale St. Marys, Soph.; Lance Wright, CB St. Albert; Jr.; Mitchell Williamson, C-A-M, Sr.

Utility: Kaleb Bauer, Southeast Warren, Sr.; Alex Bantam, Woodbine, Sr.; Brennan Sefrit, Bedford, Jr.; Quentin Culbertson, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Soph.; Drew Schurke, Ar-We-Va, Sr.

Second Team

Pitchers: Cade Ticknor, C-A-M, Fr.; Tyler Melby, West Harrison, Jr.; Kade Schlepp, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Jr.; Caelen Devault, Nodaway Valley, Fr.

Catchers: Logan-King, West Harrison, Sr.; Ben Obert, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Sr.;

1B: Alex Lingle, IKM-Manning, Sr.;

2B: Cael Cassady, Martensdale St. Marys, Soph.

SS: Lane Spieker, C-A-M, Fr.

3B: Michael Evertsen, Central Decatur, Jr.

Outfield: Schuyler Schultes, Audubon, Jr.; Nick Rife, West Harrison, Jr.; Mason Merfeld, Southeast Warren, Soph.

Utility: Trevor Wills, Logan-Magnolia, Sr.; Kasey Carter, Martensdale St. Marys, Fr.; Peyton Clipperton, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Jr.; Issac Sherrill, CB St. Albert; Layne Pryor, Woodbine, Soph.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.