River Wilds Golf Club to host upcoming tournaments

County golfers are earning pin prizes in league play, too


Two annual tournaments are on the horizon for River Wilds Golf Club as six leagues continue summer competition.
The Red, White & Blue Tournament is Saturday with an 8 a.m. tee time. The Big Cup Tournament starts at the same time, but on July 9 at the 18-hole golf course north of Blair.
A second Junior Golf Camp for ages 6-14 will also take place July 19-21 after the first session earlier this month.
On Wednesday, though, River Wilds hosted three of its six leagues, which are contested Tuesdays through Thursdays. Senior League play started the day.
The Stirek/Zobel pairing led the standings as of June 15, while Abariotes/Leehy and Mathews/Fox were tied for second. Hendrickson/Warrick and Bigelow/Petersen rounded out the top five.
Among the Senior League's pin prize winners for the season were Jon Derry, Sheldon Warrick, Larry Onnen, Lee Bigelow, Greek Abariotes, Dave Smith, Ritch Nelson, Tim Brown, Steve Baker, Hank Wessel, Jeff Christiansen and Dan McCaig.
The Shooter McGavin team, meanwhile, led the Men's League standings as of June 15. The Sandbaggers were second ahead of Stirek Construction, too.
Pin prize winners in the Men's League are Dakota Loudner, Dale Skeen, Jeff Nilges, Kellen Derry, Gage Hall, Mark Lippincott, Brad Stirek, Ryan Beasley, Joel Jacobsen, Shane Kegler, Chris Montez, Marcus Loudner, George Hall, Ryan Walpole, Jim Rosterman and Doug Demers.
In the Wednesday evening Seve League, Prototype Properties led the way. Pin prize winners have been Richard Hiles, Jacobsen, Blake Wakefield, Kelly Schany, Brandon Vacek, Nilges, Tyler Mohr, Ryan Clarke, Heath Warrick, AJ Brant, Marcus Loudner, Mitch Griesert, Daren Grace and Dakota Loudner.
Also Wednesday is the Jones League. Watch Out was first in the standings, while Schools Out FORE Summer was second. Andrew Bragg, Colin Wright, Jay Stewart, Dustin Humphrey, Mike Borer, Cole Truhlsen, Jason Stewart, Roger Petersen, Craig Anderson, Josh Thompson, Jeff O'Conner, Derek Hultgren, Quincy Nichols, Dustin Murphy and Brandon Hass have won pin prizes in the league's play as well.
Caddyshack League play at River Wilds is every Thursday. BMR led the standings as of June 16, while the Trash Bin Killer squad was second.
Caddyshack pin prize winners were Peyton Griesert, Vance Janssen, Nick Radloff, Wakefield, Nilges, Shane Morris, Marcus Loudner, David Hemphill, Jay Stewart, Mike Janssen and Todd Ehlers.
Starting off each week of River Wilds League competition, meanwhile, is the Ladies League, which plays again today. The Dirty Balls team led by two points ahead of VJJ as of June 14 and 2.5 ahead of Who's Your Caddy.
Alli Miller, Katie Mantz, Laurie Nelson, Lois Jensen, Kaylie Erwin, Kristi Rounds, Patty Plugge, Connie Kephart, Paula Bennett, Cora Thelen and Christy Erwin have all earned pin prizes with their play since Ladies League started for the season April 26.

River Wilds Golf Club


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here