Blair Bears earn postseason recognition from EMC

40 athletes claim academic honors


The Eastern Midlands Conference (EMC) released its postseason all-conference and academic teams Monday with Blair Bears in each fall sport earning recognition.
Senior Carley Damme was BHS' first-team volleyball recipient after finishing the fall with 120 kills and 29 aces, according to
Megan McKeon and Reece Ewoldt, meanwhile, were EMC honorable mention recipients. McKeon led the Bears with 301 digs this past season, while Ewoldt recorded 252 set assists.
In football, Blair's Dex Larsen, Wyatt Ogle and Nolan Osterhaus made the All-EMC Team. Larsen, a Wayne State College recruit, capped his senior season with 1,212 rushing yards and 24 total touchdowns to go with 57 tackles.
Ogle, meanwhile, finished with 39 total tackles — including four for a loss of yardage — and Osterhaus had 57. The latter also notched 26 pass receptions for 478 yards to cap his high school career.
In addition to the three BHS football players to make the first team, 10 more Bears took EMC honorable mention. They were Nolan Ulrich — another Wayne State College recruit — Morgan Rump, Livai Opetaia, Braden Hanson, Lance Hume, Cade Ulven, Kip Tupa, Lance Acker, Cole Truhlsen and Dane Larsen.
The Bears' softball team had six total EMC honorees. Tessa Villotta, Nessa McMillen and Hannah Koch were first-teamers, while Hallie Lewis, Leah Chance and Kalli Ulven claimed honorable mention. Full all-conference softball details were reported in Tuesday's Washington County Pilot-Tribune.

40 Bears earn academic recognition
In addition to those honored for their play, 40 Blair athletes were recognized by the EMC for their academic achievement. They are listed by sport below.
Cross-country: Grace Galbraith, Mary Roskens, Katie Matney, Leo Clarke, Cayli Penner, Emily Lamoureux, Kaitlynn Amandus, Caitlyn Haggstrom, Nick Wayman, Mason Bell, Zyler Wyman and Toby Ray.
Football: Ben Hagedorn, Hume, Hanson, Charlie Kies, Ulven, Dex Larsen, Ulrich, Osterhaus, Cole Wilkins, Acker, Mark Donner, Dalton Redding, Gage Nissen, Conner O'Neil, Tupa and Ogle.
Golf: Kaia Stewart, Anna Moore, Litzy Ortiz and Emma Wilson.
Softball: Ayden Dick, Julia Saylor and Carmen Warrick.
Volleyball: Hailey Baker, Morgan Potts, Damme, Emma Cada and Addy Nilges.



No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here