Blair Airport Authority roundup, Jan. 19


Board makes runaway extension priority

The Blair Airport Authority's No. 1 priority is extending the runway at the Blair Municipal Airport.

During its regular meeting Tuesday, the board approved the capital improvement plan (CIP) for the facility, with changes to move forward with an environmental assessment for the runaway extension five years earlier than originally planned.

“I think the priority of this board as I've seen it over the last few months would be to move forward with that environmental assessment to get to where we can move forward with that runway extension as soon as feasibly can be possible,” said Rod Storm, city administrator and airport manager.

Storm said the airport authority has $150,000 in entitlement funds for fiscal year 2021 and it will receive another $150,000 for fiscal year 2022.

The anticipated cost for the environmental assessment to extend the runway is $200,000 to $250,000, Storm said.

The study is expected to take 1 1/2 to 2 years, which would allow land acquisition to happen in 2024 and a relocation of county roads in 2025.

Construction on the runway extension could begin in 2026.

“The objective is to move forward,” board member Dan Hunt said.

Engineering agreements approved

The board approved two engineering agreements with Olsson Associates.

The first is to prepare FAA 7460-1 Obstruction Notification submittal for the FAA for lighting improvements along the new access road at the airport. The cost for the agreement is $2,650.

OPPD is expected to install 21 lights along the new access road.

The second agreement is for the relocation of the septic system. The cost for that agreement is $7,700.

Swearing in postponed, officers elected

Marty Rump, the newest member of the Blair Airport Board, was unable to attend Tuesday's meeting. Rump won the seat in the November election after Loren Havekost did not seek re-election.

Rump is expected to be sworn in in February.

The board also elected its officers: Geary Combs, chairman; David Johnson, vice chairman; and Dan Hunt, secretary.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment