Nielsen earns NSWCA awards

Recent Blair graduate and future University of Nebraska-Kearney Loper Jackson Nielsen won multiple awards Friday at the Nebraska Scholastic Wrestling Coaches Association (NSWCA) banquet in Grand Island.

Nielsen, a two-time state champion and member of the 2019 Bears dual championship team, was named the Class B recipient of the Guy Mytty Senior Award. He also earned the Pinnacle Bank Scholarship.

Ross Halford of Blair won the media award for his work on

World-Herald honors Blair soccer players

Eight Blair soccer players were honored recently with the release of the Omaha World-Herald's all-state soccer teams.

Freshman Kaedon Anderson made the Class B second team, while teammates Luke Bailey, Jacob Smith, Brody Karls and Isaac Smith earned honorable mention.

BHS girls Cayla Nielsen, Sophia Grantham and Danielle Thompson also received honorable mention from the state publication.

County baseball players recognized

Baseball players from Arlington, Blair and Fort Calhoun were recently presented Class B all-state honorable mention by the Omaha World-Herald for their work during the spring season.

Arlington's Trevor Smailys, Trent Borgmann, Ryan Arnett and Braden Rump were honored, as were Fort Calhoun's Justin Evans and Kaden Therkildsen.

Blair's Colin Quick, Jack Nielsen, AJ Bilslend and Dex Larsen also earned honorable mention.

— Staff reports

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.