Board honors Supt. Lynn Johnson

The Arlington Public Schools Board of Education honored retiring superintendent Lynn Johnson, center, Monday night as she attended her last meeting. Front row from left: Board member Jason Arp, Johnson and board member Jessica Scheer. Back row: Board members Janet Warner, Shanon Willmott, Bruce Scheer and Matt O'Daniel.

The Arlington Public Schools Board of Education honored retiring Supt. Lynn Johnson on June 10, presenting her with a special plaque at the start of her final meeting with the district.

By his calculations, Board President Matt O'Daniel said it was Johnson's 120th school board meeting as superintendent.

"On behalf of our board and all the other boards that came before us, we thank you for all you have done for us and our kids thank you we wish you much luck in whatever's your next chapter," O'Daniel said.

Johnson, who has been with the district for 31 years, the last 10 as superintendent is retiring June 30.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.