Arlington Alumni banquet

Brittany Wilkins, right, presents her father, Dennis Wilkins, with a plaque for his induction to the Arlington Education Foundation Hall of Fame on Saturday during the Arlington Alumni banquet at the Arlington Auditorium.

Arlington High School alumni gathered to reminisce and celebrate an organization that raises funds for scholarships and other needs for the district.

The Arlington Education Foundation (AEF) hosted its annual alumni banquet Saturday at the Arlington Auditorium. More than 200 alumni, family and friends attended.

Arlington Alumni banquet

The founding board members for the Arlington Education Foundation were honored on the 30th anniversary of the foundation. Pictured, from left: Sen. Roy Baker, former APS superintendent, Tim Brown, Kathy Rhea, Mary Jane Thulin, Steve Sebberson and Dennis Wilkins.

This year's event marked the 30th anniversary of the foundation's beginning. The foundation, which began in 1987, honored its charter members Dennis Wilkins, Sen. Roy Baker, Kathy Rhea, Steve Sebberson, Mary Jane Thulin and Tim Brown.

Wilkins, who served on the Arlington Public Schools Board of Education from 1986 until 2001, was instrumental in organizing the foundation, Rhea said.

“(The foundation) is a great thing for this school and it's continued to grow,” she said.

Wilkins said his inspiration for the foundation was the late Dr. Lauren Spangler, an Arlington resident, who provided funds anonymously to children less fortunate than others. He presented the idea to the school board, who tasked him to spearhead the initiative.

“We started out with zero,” he said. “We didn't have anything. Steve Sebberson gave the first $60 contribution to the foundation to pay our legal fees to get our organization started.”

After a number of fundraisers, the charter members decided to organize an alumni banquet.

“I'm just glad the foundation is there for people if they want to give some money,” Wilkins said.

Wilkins, a 1965 AHS graduate, was inducted into the AEF Hall of Fame. His daughter, Brittany, a 2001 AHS graduate, presented the award.

“I'm sure there are more people deserving than I,” Wilkins said.

Wilkins, who farms the original land owned by his grandfather, G.C. Wilkins with his sons, Brett and Ben, has shown his dedication to the children who attend APS through the creation of the foundation, Brittany said.

Dennis served on the foundation's board of directors until 2014. He currently serves on the board of the Educational Service Unit No. 3, an elected position he has held since 2002.

Two Arlington residents were also honored with the Marian Wilkins Community Service Award.

Cindy (Rosenkilde) Grefe, a 1967 AHS graduate, was honored for her work with the Arlington Jaycees, the Arlington Community Church and the Arlington VFW Auxiliary.

Cheryl Abbott, who moved to Arlington in 2004, is the director of the Arlington Multipurpose Senior Center and secretary for the Arlington Lions Club. She has volunteered for several committees as a member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church.

The foundation also honored its 2017 scholarship recipients: Brook Hoesing, Grant Miller, Jared Ruwe, Riley Smith and Hannah Thompson.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.