Loess Hills Trap Team returns with third place team finish

Megan Coberly earns club’s first state championship

The Loess Hills Trap Team returned with a team trophy and an individual state champion in their first year of competing at the Iowa State Trap Team Championships in Cedar Falls on June 10-11. The Loess Hills Trap Team picked up a third place team finish, with Megan Coberly earning an individual state championship.  

Megan Coberly became the state's top junior varsity high school shooter with a score of 191 out of 200 clays broken for a first place finish in her age division, with Kylie Tierney finishing in fifth place (JV Division) with a score of 183.  

The Loess Hills Jr Varsity Red squad earned the club's first team trophy since the program started five years ago.  The JV Red squad initially tied for second place, but lost in a shoot-off with South Hardin (Jewell) Trap Team for a third place finish.  Members of the Loess Hills JV Red Squad are Cole Rodenburg, Kylie Tierney, Brandon Nelson, Megan Coberly and Austin Zaiser.

The club's top varsity high school performance was by Stetson Dickman , who picked up a 19th place finish with a score of 195 (200 clays).  The state's top varsity shooter was Samuel Fowler of Maquoketa High School with a score of 199.  With 835 varsity shooters, only five clays separated first place from 19th place in the male division, according to Loess Hills Trap Coach Dave Tierney.  

McKenna Wohlers of Missouri Valley was the club's top female high school varsity shooter with an 11th place finish, noting again only five clays separated Wohlers from a first place finish at the state championships.

The top men's JV shooter for the Loess Hills Trap Team was Brandon Nelson, who scored a 12th place finish, while the top middle school shooter was Jessie Watts  with a 41st place finish in the middle school division.

The Iowa High School State Trap Championships are held every year in June at the Cedar Falls Gun Club in Cedar Falls.  The sport continues to grow every year, setting new attendance records at the state compeitition.  This year's attendance was over 3,000 youth from grades 5th - 12th representing clubs and schools as a sport across Iowa.  Minnesota has the highest attendance at their state trap championships with over 10, 000 youth involved.

2016 Loess Hills Area Trap Team

Logan-Magnolia: High School – Zach Blum, Rachel Coolman, Stetson Dickman, Morgan Melby, Taylor Nelson, Brandon Nelson, James Weiner, Austin Yost, Austin Zaiser.

Missouri Valley: High School – Dylan Endriss, Aaron Strong, Adam Svejda, Aaron Strong, Ethan Thomas, Kylie Tierney, Garett Tierney, McKenna Wohlers.

West Harrison: Middle School – Jesse Watts, Marvin Watts.

Woodbine: High School – Matthew Dorland; Middle School – Ben Dorland.

Boyer Valley: High School – Megan Coberly.

CB Lewis Central: High School – Karney Rhoades, Cole Rodenburg.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.